Chronicles of Man Armed with Rods, Reels, and a Camera

Clear Cure Goo Spoon Fly: Video Tutorial and Free Flies

Here’s a spoon fly video tutorial. This is the first of many fly tying installments that I, as well as others, will be posting on this site. The objective of these tutorials is to teach inexperienced or skilled fly tyers how to tie patterns that have produced good results for species of a specific area. Hopefully these tutorials give you insight on how to tie a specific pattern or spark up ideas that you can incorporate into your own flies.

In addition, there will be a fly giveaway associated with each tutorial for the subscribers of this site. To qualify all you have to do is click the little “sign me up” box on the homepage and subscribe to this blog and comment on this post and you’re registered. Or, if you’re already a subscriber all you have to do is comment on this post and you’re also entered. Your comment doesn’t have to be elaborate; it can be as simple as typing “in” or “sign me up”.

This week I’m going to be giving away a few spoon flies in a variety of colors like the ones shown in the video below. This contest starts today and ends next Thursday at midnight central time. I will only mail these flies to individuals residing in the lower 48.

Materials:
Mustad 34007 Size #2
Clear Cure Goo Thick
Pre-Cut Spoon Fly Templates
Meduim Size Bead Chain Eyes
Craft Fur
Krystal Hackle

Links:
Hook Shape Template
www.creativefeathers.com
www.clearcuregoo.com

If you’re having problems viewing this video you can also watch it here…
http://www.youtube.com/user/jeremypchavez

19 responses

  1. Roofish

    Count me in Jeremy:)

    April 21, 2011 at 7:58 AM

  2. docrod

    Great tutorial, will have to try out when I start tying my own.

    April 21, 2011 at 10:38 AM

  3. Alex Torres

    Looking forward to getting the Fly rod out again soon…sign me up for the give away. This will really help me into getting started at tying my own flies. Thanks.

    April 21, 2011 at 1:32 PM

  4. Great tutorial. I’ve been thinking about tying my own spoon flies. Appreciate your help.

    April 21, 2011 at 2:41 PM

  5. I’ve got a question about the Clear Cure Goo. I don’t tie enough flies to justify forking out $50 for the entire kit. Can I get by with just purchasing the goo and getting my own U.V. light (hhttp://www.amazon.com/LED-Violet-Blacklight-Flashlight-7301UV400/dp/B001VZC5LA/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1303419287&sr=8-4)? What goo should I get? Thin or Thick? Thanks

    April 21, 2011 at 2:56 PM

    • Sorry, the website won’t come up. Try googling this: 9 LED 400 nM UV Ultra Violet Blacklight Flashlight 3AAA, 7301UV400

      April 21, 2011 at 2:59 PM

    • Jeremy

      Yea, the kit is a little expensive but you only have to buy the light once. I’ve read that the light that CCG sells is made specifically for CCG and helps it cure correctly. I’ve tried other lights when I first bought CCG and it didn’t cure the material but I’m not sure if I was using a UV light.

      Any UV light should work to some degree but don’t know if it’s going to work correctly. I know sunlight also cures CCG so you have to be careful when working with CCG near direct sunlight. I would get thick if you plan on making spoons but thin is pretty useful too for other applications.

      April 21, 2011 at 11:24 PM

  6. Keith Carr

    Please sign me up. Appreciate putting on the blog and excellent tutorials. Keep up the good work.

    April 24, 2011 at 6:38 AM

  7. Robert

    Great JOB! Sign me up

    April 27, 2011 at 6:39 PM

  8. Pingback: Free Flies « Casting Tales

  9. Bob in Sachse

    Nice tutorial!! I look forward to trying to tie these in the future.

    April 28, 2011 at 7:09 AM

  10. paulkooi

    nice now i have another vice lol,n have to buy a vice, is this how i sign up 4 drawing?

    April 28, 2011 at 1:14 PM

  11. Jeremy

    Paul, you’re in the drawing. As of right now there’s 10 of you entered.

    April 28, 2011 at 1:48 PM

  12. Josh

    Sign me up your flies catch for sure! Keep up the stellar work. Love the site.

    April 28, 2011 at 4:28 PM

  13. Chris

    Great tutorial, thanks for sharing! Now I need to find a vise…

    April 28, 2011 at 5:39 PM

  14. Don

    Great video, picked up the CCG kit today, been wanting to make some shrimp patterns.

    April 28, 2011 at 7:50 PM

  15. sign me up. These spoons look great. Ive seen some tutorials but these spoons look tasty. hehe

    April 28, 2011 at 9:30 PM

  16. JUAN URBANO

    sign me up Jeremy.

    April 29, 2011 at 7:48 AM

  17. Pingback: Congratulations Juan Urbano! « Casting Tales

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers